Break? Please?

Finals are over and I’ve just finished the first of a 3 week “break”. I’ve got two rooms of my house cleaned and reorganized, and I WANT to get started on the rest of the house, but I keep thinking, “Man, I need a REAL break.”

I know it’s not gonna happen. I’m a mom to three kids, one of whom is transitioning to his own bed, and it’s rough some nights. My mom’s love has suffered a heart attack and is currently in the hospital. I’m stressed for both of them. My school doesn’t even know if or for how long it will remain open. Stress. My husband and I are trying to reorganize our finances so the last and first weeks of the months don’t practically kill us. Stress.

I think the stress of school is easier.

There is an online cartoonist who goes by The Oatmeal. If you haven’t read his stuff yet, (and you aren’t offended by bad language) I’d encourage you to check it out. He’s pretty freaking hilarious. But his latest one has to do with happiness, and how he’s never been happy. He then goes on to describe what I would call basic happiness. He has things that drive him, and things to do with his life. After reading that, I sit and think about the things that drive me: my children, my love for my husband, my drive to become a nurse, and my drive to be a good mom and wife. Then I sit back and think about how much I’m blessed, and how can I complain?

So when all of this piles up, I think it’s important to remember to stop and count my blessings. I know people hear about this exercise and start rolling their eyes. However, there are days it seems that my blessings are the only reason I keep striving to better myself.

Working toward goals is fantastic, and I’d encourage everyone to do just that. Make a list of things you want to achieve and work hard on achieving them. But don’t forget to list your blessings and enjoy what you have and what drives you, because that’s what makes you who you are as a person, and allows you to strive toward what’s most important in your life.

Leave a Reply

